Thomas Lew Wing Kit


Thomas Lew Wing Kit is Chairman of the Medical Board at Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) since 2011. TTSH is the 1500 bed acute and tertiary care hospital for the National Healthcare Group (NHG), looking after the health of 1.4 million population in central Singapore. He was formerly the Co-director of the Neurological Intensive Care Unit at the National Neuroscience Institute (NNI)(1995-2000); Head of the Department of Anaesthesiology (2002-2007); and Assistant Chairman Medical Board for Clinical Development(2006-2011)at TTSH. He is a dual-accredited specialist in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, and trained at the National University of Singapore (NUS), the University of Pittsburgh Medical Centre, the Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Ohio, and at the NTU-Berkeley Business schools’ AMP.

His clinical research interests in neuroanaesthesia, neurotrauma, and critical care medicine include original first or senior author publications in JAMA, Analgesia & Anesthesia, Journal of Trauma, Canadian Journal of Anaesthesia, Anesthesia & Intensive Care, and the Int J Health Care Qual Assur, and book chapters in Maurice Albin’s Textbook of Neuroanaesthesia and the pocket companion to Shoemaker’s Textbook of Critical Care. He was co-editor of the TTSH-NNI ICU Handbook (2 editions).

His current interests are in system-wide healthcare transformation, improvement science, implementation strategies, organizational change strategies, ethical conduct of hospital practice and medical-social transitions in Singapore. He is an instructor and coach in the Clinical Practice Improvement Program at the National Healthcare Group (NHG), and the Advanced Lean Management training program at TTSH.

He was a President of the Singapore Society of Anaesthesiologists, a foundation executive committee member of the Society of Intensive Care Medicine (Singapore) and a foundation executive committee member of the Asian Society of Neuroanaesthesia and Critical Care. He is on the Medical Advisory Board of the AMK-THK Community Hospital, and chairs the National Healthcare Group’s Care Transformation Program Steering Committee. Nationally, he chairs or co-chairs the Ministry of Health (MOH) Chronic Disease Management Clinical Advisory Committee, Renal Failure Strategy Working Committee, and the National Intensive Care Unit Registry (NICUR) Workgroup.